Stress

Apply for internships. sell ad space to businesses. read your textbook. go to the gym. pay your tuition. fix your car. get adderall. call your boss. write more blogs. I’m fucking stressed out. Why do people always look back on their college years and wish they could go back? It’s because we can’t appreciate a good thing while it lasts. I can’t even think about enjoying my college years because I got way too much shit on my plate. But in 3 years I could be sitting in an office cubicle and typing some monotonous bullshit while thinking to myself “where did the college years go?” The college years were spent right here; typing this article while I search the UD career services database looking for an internship that I’ll probably end up hating all so I can be given the opportunity to sit in an office cubicle and type some monotonous bullshit. I read “Fight Club” (yes, the book) a couple of weeks ago and boy did Tyler Durden have it right. “You’re not your job. You’re not how much money you have in the bank. You’re not the car you drive. You’re not the contents of your wallet. You’re not your fucking khakis. You’re the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world”. Sitting here on my laptop, pondering my future, (or lack there of) I sort of understand what it means to be the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world. I sing the song and I dance the dance that I am expected to do in order to succeed. If I sing the right tune will you give me that internship that will look good on my resume. If I dance good enough for you would you consider signing this contract with my newspaper? Or am I just the peice of crap that does what he is told and is led to believe it will all work out in the end. Maybe I should go rogue like Tyler Durden and do what makes me happy and not what would make a prospective employer happy. But I know that that won’t work because it’ll end with me being kicked out of school and then what? I think it’s important not to let your stresses define you. Even if I get the internship I want is that going to guarantee my happiness for the next five months?  NO, but If I don’t get it will I let that guarantee my misery for the next 5 months? In situations like this, when one is face to face with adversity, it is important to remember that your not your fucking khakis. It’s friday night, go out and savor the only thing that is fair and right in this crazy college life. Get some freinds, get some ladies, get some beer, and forget about your stresses because they’ll still be there in the morning.

One comment

  1. -“School is not life…At school you dream, in life you have to adapt yourself. That is the reality. You never become what you would like to become.”

    -“The majority, the skeptics adapt themselves. The others become revolutionaries.”

    -“Truth and brotherhood will prevail among men instead of lies and hatred. Labour will prevail instead of money.”

    “Bread and Wine” by Ignazio Silone.

    Like

Speak your mind

