My Take on Titanic 3D

“You can also find this story in this weeks issue of the UD Review…I’m a movie critic beeeyatch”

When I first heard Titanic was being re-released in 3D for the 100 year anniversary of it’s sinking, I thought to myself “Why would they re-release a classic in 3D?” After watching Titanic in 3D, I thought to myself “Why would they re-release a classic in 3D?” James Cameron must have needed the money for an Avatar sequel because I saw no other reason for this movie to be remade in 3D.

You would think a film with so many breathtaking shots would only be enhanced by 3D. However, in many scenes I failed to see a difference in the shots. During the film I got into the habit of watching parts of the film without my 3D glasses on. The difference I saw with and without my glasses on was negligible. Cameron spent 60 weeks and $18 million to get Titanic 3D ship shape, money that would have been better spent elsewhere. I am no fan of 3D films to begin with, mainly because most films that are released in 3D are big budget action films with no real plot or acting; however, Titanic has a great plot and amazing actors. The reason the 3D falls flat is because real 3D films are shot with 3D cameras. Titanic was rendered 3D by techno rat James Cameron and his team of computer wizards. They certainly tried their best; one scene in particular that impressed me is when 17 year-old Rose Dewitt Bukater is contemplating her suicide, hanging off the side of the ship, the freezing cold Atlantic waters below. This scene looked eerily real in 3D, so much so that you felt bad for the handsome and charming Jack Dawson, who was ready to jump in after her. However, this scene is unfortunately an exception.

Despite all that can be said about the 3D, Titanic is still a truly amazing cinematic feat. Winner of 11 academy awards (including best picture), it marked the emergence of then 21 year-old Leonardo Di Caprio as the acting juggernaut we know him as today. The intensity and realism of the action for a movie made in 1997 is incredible. I’m not afraid to say that the forbidden love story between Jack and Rose is a tearjerker to even the most hardened of men. I even love the original score by Celine Dion. This movie was flawless in nearly every way when it was first released, so why remake it in 3D? To introduce it to a younger generation of moviegoers perhaps? Or maybe because nowadays people will only go to the movies to see the big budget 3D films. Whatever the case may be, I feel that this remake sullied the masterpiece that was Titanic. If you want to commemorate the 100-year anniversary of the Titanic sinking then I’ve got some advice for you. Save $15, watch it on a high-def TV or Blu-Ray, and I promise you will get the same experience.

SPOLIER ALERT: Rose still does not let Jack on the door in the 3D version.

Speak your mind

