Song of the day: Rusty

If you read my older blog posts then you would know that back when I was a sophomore in college I was obsessed with the rap collective Odd Future. I was a real fanboy, even going to two different Odd Future concerts where I was too nervous to mosh with the other edgy white suburbanites. Three years later I’ve gotten over my obsession but I still very much enjoy Tyler the Creator. Rusty is, in my humble opinion, the best song off his latest album Wolf. That’s saying something considering there are about 3-4 other songs that really jump out at you after a good listen (I.F.H.Y., Answer, Colossus, Trashwang).

Why Tyler appeals to me is his originality. According to a 2011 interview with SPIN magazine, in this song he talks about “the beautiful nightmare of fame”. His 2 minute verse is some of the best damn rapping you’ll ever hear. Enjoy!

Speak your mind

