2015 In Review

You should only look back to see how far you’ve come. Keeping that in mind, I spent some time reflecting on my 2015 and here is what I saw.

Writing: I finally became gainfully employed. I spent 2015 working at different times for four different companies, and I wrote more articles than I ever thought I was capable of (somewhere close to 300 im guessing). Good luck erasing that digital footprint.

It will probably take another 1000 articles before I’m any good, but It’s nice to think I spent a good chunk of this year working at something I really care about.

I also started side-projects, including my Tumblr and some freelance work. I tweeted more than ever before, and I got back to blogging. In 2016, I would like to add one piece of writing to my blog each week. I would also like to draw more ideas from my everyday life which I can use to produce work.

Connections: I became a lot closer with my grandparents. Living with them for six months helped me learn a lot about them, and I think I learned from them too. I’m glad I had that opportunity, considering they are 95 and 90.

I got a lot closer to my English family, thanks to an amazing 10-day vacation I took in July. I also got to meet new family while abroad, including my cousins Josh and Joel.

I also think I did a good job keeping in touch with many of my friends. I am at the age where I know everybody gets wrapped up in their career and drifts apart. Even so, I made numerous trips to visit friends and shared some good times.

Scares: My father’s triple bypass surgery in October was a scary time for my family. Fortunately, the surgery went well. But convincing my father to take care of himself going forward is another challenge.

Growth: I grew as a writer, but more importantly, I grew as a person. I became more aware of some of my flaws, and have made a conscious effort to change them. I try not to complain to people as much. I try not to whine. I try not to get angry at my parents. I try not to compare myself to other people. I want to just focus on myself.

Self-Control: I’ve dieted more carefully in 2015 than any other year in my life. I’ve worked at managing my money more carefully and not purchasing things I don’t really need. I’m even starting a retirement fund and have plans to invest.

Exercise: I probably exercised more than any other year in my life, but I know I can still do a lot more. Overall, I think I probably went to the gym 1/3 of all days in 2015. In 2016, I would like to get to the gym at least 4 out of 7 days of the week.

Fear: I am still fearful of many things that I don’t want to be fearful of. I want to be more sociable, but I fear falling flat on my face when I try to start a conversation. I also want to take up a new hobby, but can’t seem to get myself started. I am fearful of being uncomfortable. In 2016, I want to embrace discomfort.

Reading: I did more reading in 2015 than any other year in my life, but most of it was web content. I was only able to finish about 10 books this year. Three others I put down halfway through. In 2016 I would like to read at least 18 books, or 1.5 books a month.

Travel: I was finally able to visit England in 2015, but outside of that I did not do much traveling. The reason for that was mainly financial, but it is still disappointing considering how much I value travel. I plan on showing myself more new places in 2016.

I think overall 2015 was a step in the right direction. I laid the foundation for a lot of things I would like to accomplish in the future. I look forward to coming back to this post a year from now and seeing how much things have changed.

Speak your mind

